

OFFICE OF THE CITY MANAGER

NO. LTC # 025-2017

TO: Mayor Philip Levine and Members of the City Commission

FROM: Jimmy L. Morales, City Manager

DATE: January 13, 2017

SUBJECT: PARKS & RECREATIONAL FACILITIES ADVISORY BOARD MOTIONS

The purpose of this Letter to Commission (LTC) s to inform the Mayor and Commission of five motions passed by the Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board at its meeting of January 12, 2017:

LETTER TO COMMISSION

MOTION 1:

Motion to allow each Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board member (3) three telephone appearances during board meetings and the 4th telephone appearance will be considered an absence.

Motion Made by: Lori Nieder

Motion Seconded by: Dana Turken Motion Passes: 7-3 (Motion Passes)

Voted Against Motion: John Groff, Robert Gonzalez, and David Berger

Members Present for Motion: Carolina Jones (Chair), Dana Turken, David Berger, Jenifer Caplan, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Robert Gonzalez, Jonathan Groff, Lori Nieder, Stephanie Rosen and Paul Stein.

<u>Members Participating via Telephone</u>: Lee Zimmerman <u>Members Absent for Motion</u>: Chris Growald and Wil Martinez

MOTION 2:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board has reviewed the 30% Design Development Plan for the Future Community Park (Former Par 3). The design of the finger lake and the placement in the center of the park reduces the functional use of the park and accordingly the Board feels it is not in the best interest of the City. The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board therefore recommends the reduction of the lake to approximately one acre in a free form and placement in an area that maximizes flat green space.

Motion Made by: Jonathan Groff Motion Seconded by: Paul Stein Motion Passes: 10-0 (Motion Passes)

<u>Members Present for Motion:</u> Carolina Jones (Chair), Dana Turken, David Berger, Jenifer Caplan, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Robert Gonzalez, Jonathan Groff, Lori Nieder, Stephanie Rosen and Paul Stein.

Members Participating via Telephone: Lee Zimmerman Members Absent for Motion: Chris Growald and Wil Martinez

MOTION 3:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board recommends that the 20th and Alton Road Pocket Park should include a unique art installation that serves as an interactive playground for children.

<u>Motion Made by:</u> Robert Gonzalez <u>Motion Seconded by:</u> Stephanie Rosen <u>Motion Passes:</u> 9-0 (Motion Passes)

<u>Members Present for Motion:</u> Carolina Jones (Chair), Dana Turken, David Berger, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Robert Gonzalez, Jonathan Groff, Lori Nieder, Stephanie Rosen and Paul Stein.

Members Participating via Telephone: Lee Zimmerman

Members Absent for Motion: Jenifer Caplan, Chris Growald and Wil Martinez

MOTION 4:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board recommends for North Shore Open Space Park to be renamed "North Beach Oceanside Park." The board feels since the City of Miami Beach has a "South Beach" and the City is working toward creating an identity for "North Beach," having the park name include "North Beach" will assist and be consistent.

Other names mentioned were: "North Shore Oceanfront Park", "North Shore Beachfront Park" and "North Shore Beach Park."

Motion Made by: David Berger

Motion Seconded by: Robert Gonzalez Motion Passes: 8-1 (Motion Passes)

Voted Against Motion: Dana Turken

Members Present for Motion: Carolina Jones (Chair), Dana Turken, David Berger, Eliane Soffer Siegel,

Robert Gonzalez, Jonathan Groff, Lori Nieder, Stephanie Rosen and Paul Stein.

Members Participating via Telephone: Lee Zimmerman

Members Absent for Motion: Jenifer Caplan, Chris Growald and Wil Martinez

MOTION 5:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board recommends that staff explore the cost and feasibility of having mosquito repellent dispensers at parks and other facilities throughout Miami Beach.

Motion Made by: Stephanie Rosen Motion Seconded by: Carolina Jones Motion Passes: 9-0 (Motion Passes)

JLM/ECJP/CO

Members Present for Motion: Carolina Jones (Chair), Dana Turken, David Berger, Eliane Soffer Siegel,

Robert Gonzalez, Jonathan Groff, Lori Nieder, Stephanie Rosen and Paul Stein.

Members Participating via Telephone: Lee Zimmerman

Members Absent for Motion: Jenifer Caplan, Chris Growald and Wil Martinez