MIAMIBEACH

OFFICE OF THE CITY MANAGER

NO. LTC#

027-2019

TO:

Mayor Dan Gelber and Members of the City Commission

FROM:

Jimmy L. Morales, City Manager

DATE:

January 11, 2019

SUBJECT: PARKS & RECREATIONAL FACILITIES ADVISORY BOARD MOTIONS

The purpose of this Letter to Commission (LTC) is to inform the Mayor and Commission of the two motions passed by the Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board at its meeting on January 10, 2019:

LETTER TO COMMISSION

## **MOTION 1:**

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board has, on multiple occasions, discussed naming a park within our City to celebrate our culture of diversity and inclusiveness. From religious freedom, to LGBTQ rights, to honoring residents with special needs and embracing people from every ethnicity, our City is a beacon for inclusion. It is in this spirit, that the Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board recommends that the new park on 500 Alton Road, at our City's primary entrance, be named UNITY PARK. We further recommend that plaques with inspirational quotes be placed throughout the park commemorating our City's commitment to this core value.

Motion Made by: Carolina Jones (Wil Martinez was chair at the time of the motion) Motion Seconded by: Wil Martinez

Motion Passes: 8-0 (Motion Passes)

Members In Favor: Carolina Jones, Wil Martinez, Andrew Plotkin, Stephanie Rosen, Sean Smith, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Dana Turken and Paul Stein

Members Not Present: Robert Gonzalez, Jonathan Fryd and David Berger

## **MOTION 2:**

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board motions to explore working with the Miami-Dade County Public School Board to use all of their available fields in Miami Beach to expand youth sports programming based on the increasing enrollment numbers of programs such as baseball and soccer and due to the lack of current field space available for use.

Motion Made by: Sean Smith Motion Seconded by: Dana Turken

Motion Passes: 9-0 (Motion Passes)

Members In Favor: Carolina Jones, Wil Martinez, David Berger, Andrew Plotkin, Stephanie Rosen, Sean Smith, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Dana Turken and Paul Stein

Members Not Present: Robert Gonzalez and Jonathan Fryd