MIAMIBEACH

COMMISSION MEMORANDUM

TO: Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Commission

FROM: Commissioner Michael Gongora

DATE: November 18, 2020

SUBJECT: REFERRAL TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD AND QUALITY OF LIFE COMMITTEE AND THE LAND USE AND SUSTAINABILITY COMMITTEE - DISCUSSION REGARDING THE OCTOBER 20 AFFORDABLE HOUSING COMMITTEE MOTION SUPPORTING FEE WAIVERS TO INCENTIVIZE

AFFORDABLE HOUSING.

ANALYSIS

Please place on the November 18 Commission agenda a referral to the Land Use and Sustainability Committee and Neighborhood and Quality of Life Committee regarding the October 20 motion that was made by the Affordable Housing Committee regarding supporting the following city incentives for affordable housing:

- 1. Expedite the building permit process.
- 2. Waive city land use board fees.
- 3. Waive city mobility fees.

This item is a standing item in both committees already. Please find attached the LTC and feel free to contact Diana Fontani should you need any additional information.

Applicable Area

Citywide

Is this a "Residents Right to Know" item, pursuant to City Code Section 2-14?

Does this item utilize G.O.

Bond Funds?

Yes No

Legislative Tracking

Commissioner Michael Gongora

ATTACHMENTS:

Description

LTC Affordable Housing Committee



OFFICE OF THE

374-2020

NO. LTC#

LETTER TO COMMISSION

TO:

Mayor Dan Gelber and Members of the City Commission

FROM:

Jimmy L. Morales, City Manager Jimmy Morales

DATE:

October 21, 2020

SUBJECT:

Motion by the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee

The purpose of this Letter To Commission is to transmit the following motion approved unanimously by the Affordable Housing Advisory Committee at its October 20, 2020 meeting:

DocuSigned by:

The Affordable Housing Advisory Committee supports the following city incentives for affordable housing:

- 1. Expedite the building permit process.
- Waive city land use board fees.
- 3. Waive city mobility fees.

The Affordable Housing Advisory Committee is comprised of the following members:

- Commissioner Gongora
- Daniel Veitia (Committee Chair)
- Allison Stone (Committee Vice-Chair)
- Karen Fryd
- Alexander Orlofsky
- Matthew Land
- Darin Feldman
- Sarah Leddick
- Barbara Montero
- Luis Vega
- Pilar Carvajal
- Sixto Acea
- Roger Shields
- Jeremy Wilson
- Jeff Feldman
- Alexander Gorlin (absent)

If you have any additional questions, please feel free to see Committee Liaison Alba Tarre.

JLM/AH/MLR/AAT