Committee Assignments - C4 E

MIAMIBEACH

COMMISSION MEMORANDUM

TO: Honorable Mayor and Members of the City Commission

FROM: Commissioner Mark Samuelian

DATE: October 30, 2019

SUBJECT: REFERRAL TO THE NEIGHBORHOOD/COMMUNITY AFFAIRS

COMMITTEE ON THE MOTIONS PASSED BY THE PARKS AND

RECREATIONAL FACILITIES ADVISORY BOARD ON OCTOBER 2.

ANALYSIS

On October 2nd, the Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board passed four motions unanimously (LTC attached) and this item asks that the committee discuss the following:

MOTION 1:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board motions to appoint Board member Sean Smith as the ex-officio non-voting member of the G.O. Bond Oversight Committee.

MOTION 2:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board motions to have the Parks and Recreation, Tourism and Culture, and Marketing and Communications Departments work together to promote & create branding opportunities for the City through artistic experiences and installations within current City parks and any upcoming park projects, utilizing social media and shareable images to promote our Parks.

MOTION 3:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board recommends that the design of the Skate Park on 82 Street take into strong consideration prioritizing resiliency and sustainability efforts and that the park be a model for what we can do in the City from an environmental standpoint.

MOTION 4:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board motions for the Parks and Recreation Department to work with the Department of Tourism and Culture to explore flamingo inspired art installations within Flamingo Park.

Applicable Area

Citywide

Is this a Resident Right to

Does this item utilize G.O.

Know item? Bond Funds?

No No

Legislative Tracking

Commissioner Mark Samuelian

ATTACHMENTS:

Description

October 2 Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board Motions

MIAMIBEACH

OFFICE OF THE CITY MANAGER

NO. LTC#

541-2019

LETTER TO COMMISSION

TO:

Mayor Dan Gelber and Members of the City Commission

FROM:

Jimmy L. Morales, City Manager

DATE:

October 8, 2019

SUBJECT: PARKS & RECREATIONAL FACILITIES ADVISORY BOARD MOTIONS

The purpose of this Letter to Commission (LTC) is to inform the Mayor and Commission of the four motions passed by the Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board at its meeting on October 2, 2019:

MOTION 1:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board motions to appoint Board member Sean Smith as the exofficio non-voting member of the G.O. Bond Oversight Committee.

Motion Made by: Jonathan Fryd Motion Seconded by: Wil Martinez Motion Passes: Unanimously

Members Not Present: Andrew Plotkin, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Dana Turken, and Paul Stein

MOTION 2:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board motions to have the Parks and Recreation, Tourism and Culture, and Marketing and Communications Departments work together to promote & create branding opportunities for the City through artistic experiences and installations within current City parks and any upcoming park projects, utilizing social media and shareable images to promote our Parks.

Motion Made by: Jonathan Fryd Motion Seconded by: Sean Smith Motion Passes: Unanimously

Members Not Present: Andrew Plotkin, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Dana Turken, and Paul Stein

MOTION 3:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board recommends that the design of the Skate Park on 82nd Street take into strong consideration prioritizing resiliency and sustainability efforts and that the park be a model for what we can do in the City from an environmental standpoint.

Motion Made by: Jonathan Fryd Motion Seconded by: David Berger Motion Passes: Unanimously

Members Not Present: Andrew Plotkin, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Dana Turken, and Paul Stein

MOTION 4:

The Parks and Recreational Facilities Advisory Board motions for the Parks and Recreation Department to work with the Department of Tourism and Culture to explore flamingo inspired art installations within Flamingo Park.

Motion Made by: Wil Martinez Motion Seconded by: Sean Smith Motion Passes: Unanimously

Members Not Present: Andrew Plotkin, Eliane Soffer Siegel, Dana Turken, Paul Stein, and Jonathan Fryd

Page 633068906